Savage Fading Suns: Wyrd Bennies And Occult Paths

I have been thinking a bit about the way I think Fading Suns’s occult powers should work in Savage Worlds, and I think I have come to two conclusions:

1. I am going to have Bennies fuel powers instead of power points, probably on a one-for-one basis. I realize that this sort of radically changes the way Bennies will be used in a game, and I think I am okay with it. I think it better captures how Wyrd works in Fading Suns. It will involve the creation of some ancillary Edges I think to promote a faster flow of Bennies for occult characters, and maybe some guidelines or a sub-system for new ways to get Bennies. Maybe just like a list of mandatory ways to get them–explicitly the player’s responsibility to claim them in those circumstances?–to supplement the usual GM-discretionary Bennie awards. I also realize that this probably means occult characters will not be using their powers all that often. I’m okay with that. I don’t think that Fading Suns is a setting where it makes sense for occult characters to throw around their powers like a 9th-level D&D wizard anyway.

2. I like the idea of grouping powers into paths, and I am going to stick with that. The “New Path” edge will come with the first power form the path for free, but it will only be able to be taken once per rank. Further powers in a path you already have can be taken as often as you have an edge to spend on them. Although some powers and/or entire paths may have minimum rank requirements.

One Response to “Savage Fading Suns: Wyrd Bennies And Occult Paths”

  1. Well I guess the benefit would be to help the characters who practice psychic powers to have that unearthly glow of luck and sucess without having to always use a specfic power.

Leave a Reply

