Welcome To Asura Star

This is my brand-new blog for science fiction, swords-and-sorcery and adventure gaming.  I plan to use it as a sort of public online notebook full of adventure ideas, character ideas, game rule ideas, whatever pops out of my head and seems like either a good idea to save for later or a good idea someone else might want to use even though I probably won’t.

In real life I am a busy, boring estate planning lawyer, and I don’t have much time to actually do much gaming.  I’m not even sure how sad I am about that.  But I have done a lot of gaming in the past and so I still have a lot of ideas and interests floating around in my mind.

My tastes in readin run to pulp: I mostly read Howard and Lovecraft and their ilk.  My tastes in gaming tend to be simple and adventure-oriented.  I’m honestly not that much of a world-builder; I would rather get right to the action.  I like swords and sorcery.  I can’t stand epic fantasy or high fantasy.  I like hard sci-fi in theory but rarely in actuality.  I like space opera and space fantasy, but am not really a Star Wars fan by any measure.  I like Savage Worlds and Fading Suns, and I like most of Games Workshop’s stuff.  I like old-school retro-gaming (Traveller, OD&D).  I like Norse and Greek Mythology.

So expect to see that kind of stuff here.  See you around.

3 Responses to “Welcome To Asura Star”

  1. You’re a man after my own heart, except I like hard sci-fi in actuality and mythology in theory, rather than the reverse.

  2. In real life I am a busy, boring estate planning lawyer

    Not true. You are many things, but boring is not one of them. You are the most interesting person I know.

  3. Who doesn’t love a bit of vicarious gaming? I look forward to future posts.

Leave a Reply

